Long Run Eats

I’ve been wanting to write about this for awhile, but just have never been able to get a chance to write it. I struggled in the past on what to eat while training, especially before a run. I used to cut out a lot of carbs and focused just on protein. Oh boy, have I learned. Going into 2017, I wanted to change how I ate. I started adding healthier carbs to my diet and found that I had more energy and was able to perform better during runs (surprise, surprise). Sweet potatoes, quinoa, black beans, chick peas, bananas, oats, seedy bread now make up a good portion of my diet.

I’m the type of runner who HAS to eat before a run no matter how short or long. I’m always hungry! It took me awhile to figure out what I needed, but I think I finally got it down. Like I said, I used to avoid carbs before a run, now I embrace them with open arms 🙂

@runningonveggies has a pretty awesome overnight oats recipe that I wanted to share. Usually on my long run days, overnight oats are quick and easy to get ready when I get up in the morning.

IMG_2355

1/2 cup oats

1 1/2 Tbsp chia seeds

Cinnamon and vanilla extract to you liking

1 cup almond milk

I stir it up pretty good, keep it covered, and let it refrigerate overnight. In the morning I add banana or blueberries or both 😉 and microwave for 1 1/2 minutes. The end product is pretty delicious! You can keep it refrigerated up to 3 days, but I had it up to a week later and it tasted just fine!

During long runs, I fuel with a Gu every 4-5 miles. I don’t let myself get to the point of being hungry and then take a Gu. Afterwards, I usually have eggs and avocado toast or if I don’t have avocados, I use butter.

IMG_2944

The difference between this season and last season of training is that I don’t let myself get hungry. I make sure I fuel. I used to be self conscious of how much I ate, but I look at it now as the need to fuel myself so I can perform and recovery better.

So yes, I eat the seedy bread, eat the whole egg, and devour all the good carbs. I’m finally seeing changes in my running that I’ve been wanting to see, and I believe it is partly due to nutrition.

I’m feeling great and I’m so so ready for the Coastal Delaware Half Marathon this Sunday!!

Happy Training,

Run Jill Run

Disclaimer: By no means am I a nutritionist. I’m just a runner who really likes food and just found out what works for me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

