One Month Post Marathon

It is so surprising that it already has been a month since the Philadelphia Marathon and oh boy, it has been the hardest month of recovery ever. I talked a little about what has been going on since the marathon in my last post. Now that it has been exactly a month, I thought I would give an update.

I had to rewrite this a couple of times because my post just sounded too angry. Frustrated is an understatement. I never thought for being one month out of a marathon it would STILL be this hard. I don’t want to give out angry vibes and I’m not trying to write a “wahhh me” post. I’m trying to be completely honest and real about everything that is happening. Every runner has these moments  and period of times where they are injured. Staying positive can be difficult, as runners are usually hard headed and stubborn. I’m just your “average runner” and definitely not the fastest out there, but I like to be relatable to others who struggle to run like me and are new to marathon distance races.

Continuing to being positive, here’s what happened…

As of December 7th,  I have had this new right inner knee pain only when running. I went to the orthopedic doctor last Tuesday and they’re calling it patellofemeral syndrome (PFS) and chrondomalacia. X-ray’s were all fine and so I’ve been going to PT since then to strengthen the smaller muscles that make up my quadricep and calf. They use instrument assisted soft tissue mobilization (IASTM) to loosen up my weak quad muscle, release lactic acid build up, and free up any adhesions. They also use electrical muscle stimulation. I sometimes spend almost 2 hours at PT to make sure I get everything done.

I’ve been dedicating most of my time to resistance band work and strength training. Here are the types of exercises I do..

-Straight and side leg raises with ankle weights or a resistance band

-Leg press with one leg

-Wall squats

-Walking squats with a resistance band

-Hamstring curls with a exercise ball

-Side-lying clam shell exercise with resistance band

And many, many more

I feel stronger and healthier from it. I took a week off from running last week and attempted to run this past Monday. Still a no go. I started to have inner knee pain after mile 1 and cut my run short to only 2.5 miles. I went to PT later that day and he noticed a small bursa on my inner knee (Not good, you shouldn’t feel any bursa surrounding your knee).

I’m continuing to ice and stretch aggressively and avoiding any exercise that can aggravate my knee. Spinning is not an option right now, but I am continuing with swimming, lifting, and using the elliptical. Today was the first day where I had no twinges of pain in my knee. There is a light a the end of the tunnel! I’m taking it day by day and I’m not sure when I’ll run again, but when I do, I’m sure I’ll be paranoid haha.

The last thing I want to do is set my marathon training back because so many goals are on my mind. I should be thankful that it is not more serious and that I have the time to nurse it, but it can still be hard! I’m trying to be patient, not be stubborn, and do everything I can to keep my body strong.

Praying for quick healing and safe training,

Run Jill Run

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Ashley says:

    What happened to your Instagram? 😫😫

    Like

    1. Run Jill Run says:

      I promise I will be back! I’m just taking a little break from social media ☺

      Like

Leave a Reply

