Low Motivation and An Update

Hello there!

It’s been pretty long since I last written a post on here. Life is just life and a lot of stuff and thoughts have been going on! My stress fracture had really set me back for a loop and completely changed my outlook on working out and what I should do as a runner. As some of you know if you’ve been following me on Instagram, I picked up biking and swimming to keep my endurance and motivation going. I was lucky and blessed to be able to complete the TriRock Philadelphia Sprint Triathlon. IUTB0351IMG_9747

Never in a million years would I think I would do this! It was such an AWESOME experience and I think everyone should do at least one in there lifetime 😉 I completed it in 1:48 which I was shocked! I’m hoping to do the olympic triathlon for TriRock Philly next year!

I also had an awesome beach vacation over 4th of July week to wind down and relax. IMG_9811IMG_9824

I got to bike and run a whole lot without any pressure to do well. I loved it. The views were gorgeous and the weather was perfect!

 

After the triathlon, my motivation has been low. I originally thought it was my post race blues, but now I think I actually really do have low motivation. It has been extremely difficult for me to get up early in the morning to work out and run. I have no desire to run in this weather and humidity. I’m slow like a turtle and it’s miserable. My eating hasn’t exactly been on point on the weekends. It’s frustrating and disheartening as I’m going through this. What used to come easy to me, is now hard. I have a marathon in November that I’m signed up to run, but even that is not giving me any motivation. This is my lowest slump yet.

 

Along with this, school is picking up and I’m starting a little bit of clinicals for my nurse practitioner degree. Did I mention I’m also moving back to Philadelphia in August? It’s crazy!! Time is limited and I’m trying to enjoy where I’m currently living before I move.

 

I don’t know when I’ll get my motivation back. I currently don’t have any answers or ideas to help me. I’m just trying to get through this semester, finish up my job, find a new place to live, and move.

 

Now enough of me being a Debbie Downer, so here is my week in review!

Sunday & Monday: I took off due to night shift and clinical, exhausted is an understatement.

Tuesday: 8 miles negative splits, Leg day.

Wednesday: Swim 2000 yards, Upper body lift. Harrisburg 1 mile race.

Thursday: Horrible, hot, slow 10 miles

Friday: 4 miles speed work out, full body lift

Total Miles: 23 miles

I’m slowly increasing my mileage again while being cautious of my foot!

 

I have another extremely busy week ahead of me where I’ll be traveling to Philly to look for places to live, have a mandatory class for school, and have clinical out where I currently  live. I’m hoping to still include good mileage while getting enough rest and taking care of myself.

 

Here’s to hoping for more motivation!

-Jill

Leave a Reply

